M’sians banned from travelling to 7 countries including S. Africa

M’sians banned from travelling to 7 countries including S. Africa

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysians are banned from travelling to seven countries, namely South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe following the emergence of the new Covid-19 strain.

Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin (pix) said it was a government initiative in strengthening prevention and border control measures, including for travellers arriving in the country, effective tomorrow.

He said three countries had reported cases of the new B.1.1.529 variant, namely South Africa with 77 cases, Botswana (four) and Hong Kong (two), however, based on genomic surveillance, to date, there were no reports of the variant in Malaysia.

“Temporary restriction on all foreign nationals with a history of travel within 14 days to Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

“Malaysian citizens and permanent residents returning home after visiting those countries are allowed to enter Malaysia but must undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine at quarantine stations regardless of their vaccination status. The quarantine cannot be done at home,“ he told a press conference here today. — Bernama

More to come

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *